• November 2020: PMBS 2020 Best Short Paper Award for the paper “Performance Modeling of Streaming Kernels and Sparse Matrix-Vector Multiplication on A64FX” by Christie L. Alappat, Jan Laukemann, Thomas Gruber, Georg Hager, Gerhard Wellein, Nils Meyer, and Tilo Wettig.
  • November 2019: PMBS 2019 Best Late-Breaking Paper Award for the paper “Automatic Throughput and Critical Path Analysis of x86 and ARM Assembly Kernels” by Jan Laukemann, Julian Hammer, Georg Hager, and Gerhard Wellein.
  • September 2019: PPAM 2019 Best Paper Award for the paper “Performance Engineering for a Tall & Skinny Matrix Multiplication Kernel on GPUs” by Dominik Ernst, Georg Hager, Jonas Thies, and Gerhard Wellein.
  • June 2019: Christie Alappat comes second place in ACM Student Research Competition Grand Finals
  • November 2018: Christie Louis Alappat wins the SC18 ACM Student Research Competition Award
  • November 2018: SC18 Best Poster Award Finalist: Georg Hager et al.
  • September 2018: CoSaS 2018 Poster Award for Christie Alappat
  • June 2018: ISC Gauss Award for the paper “On the Accuracy and Usefulness of Analytic Energy Models for Contemporary Multicore Processors” by Johannes Hofmann, Georg Hager, and Dietmar Fey.
  • June 2018: ISC 2018 Hans Meuer Award finalist: “Chebyshev Filter Diagonalization on Modern Manycore Processors and GPGPUs” by Moritz Kreutzer, Georg Hager, Dominik Ernst, Holger Fehske, Alan R. Bishop, and Gerhard Wellein.
  • February 2018: SPPEXA Best PhD Award 2017 for Dr. Moritz Kreutzer
  • June 2017: ISC 2017 PhD Forum Award for Julian Hammer
  • January 2017: SPPEXA Best Master Thesis Award for Christie Alappat
  • November 2016: Second Place in SC18 Student Research Competition (graduate) for Julian Hammer
  • November 2015: SC15 Best Poster Award finalist: Moritz Kreutzer et al.
  • November 2011: Informatics Europe 2011 Curriculum Best Practices Award for the outstanding educational initiative “Teaching High Performance Computing to Scientists and Engineers: A Model-Based Approach” by Georg Hager, Gerhard Wellein, and Jan Treibig.
  • July 2009: COMPSAC 2009 Best Paper Award for the paper “Efficient temporal blocking for stencil computations by multicore-aware wavefront parallelization” by Gerhard Wellein, Georg Hager, Thomas Zeiser, Markus Wittmann, and Holger Fehske.
  • 2008: HLRS Golden Spike Award 2008 for the paper “Vector computers in a world of commodity clusters, massively parallel systems and many-core many-threaded CPUs: recent experience based on advanced lattice Boltzmann flow solvers” by Thomas Zeiser
  • 2004: HLRS Golden Spike Award 2004 for the paper “Combination of detailed CFD simulations using the lattice Boltzmann method and experimental measurements using the NMR/MRI technique” by Thomas Zeiser